UG Syllabus for English Literature under the Choice Based Credit Scheme (CBCS) to be implemented from 2018.

The detailed syllabus for English Literature given below has been designed in accordance with the UGC guidelines for CBCS and the suggestions of the Board of Undergraduate Studies. The syllabus includes 4 Compulsory Core Courses (CC) of 6 credits each with one CC in each semester from Semesters I to IV and 4 Discipline Specific Electives (DSE) of 6 credits each with 2 DSE's in each semester from Semester V to VI. The student opting for English Literature needs to earn 36 credits by taking all the 4 CC's from Semester I to IV and s/he can choose one DSE each from Semester V and VI from the given options.

Semester – III

CC 3: British Poetry II

Unit I: William Wordsworth--- "Tintern Abbey", "Ode: Intimations of Immortality"

Unit II:

• Shelley--- "Ode to the West Wind", "Ozymandias", "Hymn to Intellectual Beauty"

• Keats--- "Ode to a Nightingale", "Ode on a Grecian Urn"

Unit III: Tennyson --- "Ulysses", "Lady of Shallot", "The Defence of Lucknow"

Unit IV: W B Yeats--- "Easter 1916", "A Dialogue between Self and Soul"